Facebook had restricted their "teen" users (ranging from 13 to 17 years old), to share their posts to public. Means that option was not available for teens using Facebook. They could share their posts to their "friends" or "friends of friends".
With the new changes in Facebook, now teens will be able to share their posts publicly.
According to Facebook, "teens are among the savviest people using social media, and whether it comes to civic engagement, activism, or their thoughts on a new movie, they want to be heard."
With this important change, teens will also be able to turn on "Follow" so that their public posts can be seen in people's News Feeds.
Facebook takes the safety of teens very seriously and hence they will see an extra reminder before they can share posts publicly. When they choose as "Public" , a reminder will be notified to them stating that the post can be seen by anyone before they post publicly.
Moreover, if they still continue to post publicly, they will get another reminder stating, "Sharing with public means anyone ".
Both these reminders will be displayed for them when sharing publicly. (Image shown besides).
Recently in the month of November 2013, Facebook has launched a new tool called as "Bullying Prevention Hub" that acts as a protector against online cyber-bullying to the teens victims.